My Craziest Lost Theories: Numbers, Chess, Ping Pong Tables & Baby Daddies.

17 02 2010

Okay…  so last night we found out what the lost numbers meant.  This has given me a few more directions to go in toward finally coming up with the wackiest theories I can that are in fact theories based on facts instead of just being wild speculation. Okay… so, maybe these are just wild speculation but they are based on some key items from last night’s episodes.

Okay. so, the numbers.  They are literally on the ceiling of a cave next to the names of six of the Lostaways… the one’s I’ve come to call the All Star Team. We’ve got #4 ~ Locke, #8 ~ Reyes, #15 ~ Ford, #16 ~ Jarrah, #23 ~ Shepperd and # 42 ~ Kwon. But wait… where is Kate?  She is a member of the All Star Team!  She got touched by Jacob when he visited her!  Where is her number? Hold on there self… that is exciting all all but I’ll just have to get to that a little later in the post.  

We found out via the FLocke that Jacob had “a thing” for numbers but most importantly we found that these numbers were used in his list of candidates for who would become protector of the island. This word “Candidate” got me thinking that I should do some googling.  I always come up with the craziest theories based on random googles… but I really like this one, however crazy it is.  

So… I typed in “The Candidate” and then looked at the disambiguation page.  Instantly my eyes went to the chess entry since I had already written a post called Picking Teams where I talked about the island being a giant chess board. On this page I found out that the semi-final tournament that precedes the Wrld Championship game of Chess is called the “Candidates Tournament.” And while that alone is somewhat interesting to me since it supports ever so slightly my opinion that the island is just a giant chess board, but I noticed that the number of participants is always between the numbers 8 and 15. TWO of the Lost numbers, specifically Hurley and Sawyer’s. 

While it would have been cool if Sawyer and Hurley had played a game of chess on the island instead of just ping pong, it is interesting (at least to me) to note that Locke did play a bunch of matches of chess against the computer program at the Flame Station in the episode Enter 77. Something I find doubly interesting is that he eventually beat the computer and now, Locke is dead, his image however lives on as MIB. 

In the same episode, the previously mentioned ping pong table got a bit of use. Hurley beat Sawyer three times and then Sawyer beat Jack. Does that mean Hurley will become King of the island?  Meh… that is a pretty sandy cliff to build a house of cards on… but I will say that the idea of having to play ping pong every 108 minutes or the world will end, as Sawyer joked to Jack is an interesting idea.  Maybe this game of Chess has to keep going?  Why? Because the world might end in Global Thermonuclear War just like in War Games? I don’t know.  I said these ideas were crazy. 

There was another thing from Enter 77 that to me seemed like a possible clue to the nature of my hyp0thysized “crazy island chess match.”  It occurs to me that when Desmond and and Locke had decided to let the station’s counter run down to zero to see if anything would happen but Desmond changed his mind because he thought it might kill everyone on the island… He found the island’s Failsafe Key hidden in his copy of Our Mutual Friend, behind the ping-pong table. Could it be possible that the entire island or perhaps the game of the island has a giant failsafe key?  And if so, is that failsafe key Desmond since he is the Constant and not a Candidate. Crazy, I know. 

From this, I wonder if perhaps the island, to get this game to stop repeating itself through time, must play itself and come up in a tie just like the checkers match in War Games?  Well… it’s a thought.  But how would the island play itself?  Perhaps if everyone ended up on the same side?  Most people are headed toward The Temple aren’t they.  But that’s just dumb… moving on.  But first… just check out the number of times that Chess has been played on the island: Lostpedia Game Page: Scroll down to Chess. 

The Triangle of Skack. Okay… so, one last thought on the numbers. As we saw above, Kate was the only member of the All Star Team that did not get a number.  I started thinking about why this could be.  Afterall, Jacob visited her and touched her but failed to give her a number. Did he bring her to the island to be part of the conflict between Sawyer and Jack?  I really hope not.  I’d hate to think that I endured the annoyance of Kate for that long just to have her be the third spoke of a love triangle. But what did she have in common with Jack and Sawyer?  

Then it came to me…  Daddy Issues!  Come on, she blew up her step dad and we never did find out who her father was.  That got me thinking about the rival archetypes on the island.  We have Jacob vs. MIB as our prototypes followed by Widmore and Ben followed by Jack and Sawyer. Let’s take a closer look at this Widmore/Ben feud shall we?  

Well, it’s pretty clear that Ben is on Team MIB so that would make Widmore part of Team Jacob.  We know that the two men have similar rules, can’t kill each other is the big one.  But then Ben had Widmore kicked off the island partly based on the fact that he had a baby with a woman off the island. This baby was Penny, Desmond’s true love. 

What I am proposing is that… what if Jacob did the same thing but no one had found out about it?  What if Jacob had met Kate’s mother during a scouting trip off the island during a time when Diane Austen’s husband was overseas in the military and had relations with her of the sexual nature?  And what if Kate was born 9 months later?  Perhaps what we saw when Jacob visited Kate was just a Dad checking up on his daughter.  When he says goodbye, he touches her nose so familiarly and warmly says to her, “Be Good, Katy” just like my parents have said to me a million times in my life. What if….Watch the interaction: 

If I recall correctly, I think it was Cabrera who came up with the idea that Jacob was actually Jack’s grandfather Ray Shephard and he was actually Jack’s father or some such notion I don’t remember… I couldn’t find the exactBefeloel the triangle...  post…  but sure… Jack could somehow be a child of Jacob in some kid of twisted time travely sort of way. I’m not explaining it right though… John did a convincing job if I could only find the thing.  So… I’ll just have to stick with my insane idea because it will give Kate more purpose in life than just being the Felicity to Sawyer’s Ben and Jack’s Noel. And man!  Did that Felicity have daddy problems… he didn’t want that girl with either Ben OR Noel…  oh crap… I’m off point. Sorry.

I know people will argue that we know that Sam Austen is not her real father because we found out that Wayne Jannsen, the man Kate believed was her step dad but found out was her biological father because Sam was out of the country when she was conceived…  but no one has ever actually SAID that.  Why wouldn’t her mother, who was so upset with Kate for killing Wayne have rubbed that in her face?  Something like… “Jesus Kate!  You killed your own father you stupid jerk!”  But no one has ever said it.  And that my friends, isthe perfect  opportunity for me to say… I think that Jacob could be her daddy. Go ahead… watch that video again and tell me it isn’t dripping with fatherly love. Do it!  I dare you!  My final thought on this…  If Diane Austen cheated on Sam, then why wouldn’t she have cheated on Wayne with Jacob? Once a cheater, I always say. 

Until Next Time, “That douche is my dad.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 02 2010
Mélanie

I did notice she didn’t get a number and, too, hope it’s not related to Sawyer and Jack.

But one thing you said I’m not really sure I’d agree. Ben was on Jacob team. He served Jacob for a very long time (until FLocke brainwashed him and convinced him to kill Jacob). Unless I missed something or forgot something (Which is entirely possible). So if Ben and Widmore were not on same team, wouldn’t Widmore be on MIB’s team? or perhaps they were on same team and Ben just wanted power?

To me, it seems everyone are on Jabob’s side. Well everyone who are aware of all of this. I think Ben might still be a bit confused about what’s happening, since he killed Jacob and found out Locke wasn’t Locke. Unless he’s hiding something (again). Well, it’s giving me a headache, lol

The only thing clear is that FLocke’s proposition to Sawyer doesn’t smell good. Something’s wrong and of course he’s hiding stuff. It seems to easy. Too simple.

I wonder if FLocke had a team too, if all the people on the wall were on Jacob’s team.. his candidates. Hmm…

18 02 2010
mycrazylosttheory

I probably shouldn’t have said Team MIB there when I was talking about Ben. His character isn’t really on a team so much as an archetype. He got Widmore kicked of the island. He was the leader of the Others. Widmore was also a leader of the Others. The two of them had the same dynamic as Jacob and MIB. They both have a set of rules under which they have to operate and while they were both Others they are in direct opposition to the each other.
It is apparent that despite what he thought, Ben has been under the control of MIB for who knows how long? This aside, both men have done some horribly awful things in the name of the island. Much like Jacob/MIB. We don’t know at this point if Jacob is really all that good or if MIB is really all that bad… just that they are in combat… just like Widmore and Ben. But because Ben just killed Jacob after being manipulated by MIB… I’m going to say that Ben is falling under the dark/MIB archetype rather than the opposite.
I think that the candidates were brought to the island to really see what they were made of. To see where in the realm of light and dark they would fall. Some where dark and turned light while being on the island and some the opposite can be said of. The thing about people are the complexities and the ability based on the situation to do wonderful or horrible things. The only person who seems a bit above that struggle is Hurley who is often just good. Makes me wonder if Hurley will end up as King of the Island at the end of this?

Hope this makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

