Where Are We Again?

30 01 2010

We are nearing the beginning of the final season of Lost… that is where we are. Avidly awaiting and some of us praying for not only a satisfying conclusion but some explanation of what all of this stuff means. It’s like reaching our final moment of life and realizing that soon we will find out what happens after death, perhaps finding out if there is a god and if so, maybe we can meet her. Personally, I’m hoping for more of an explanation of who is pulling the strings on the Lost Island than we got at the beginning of Buffy the Vampire Slayer’s Season 6 when Buffy described her experience being dead to Spike saying,

“I was happy. Wherever I was, I was happy. At peace. I knew that everyone I cared about was all right. I knew it. Time didn’t mean anything. Nothing had form. But I was still me, you know? And I was warm,and I was loved, and I was finished. Complete. I don’t understand about theology or dimensions, or any of it, really, but I think I was in heaven. And now I’m not. I was torn out of there. Pulled out… by my friends.”

That’s all fine and good in the context of Spillow talk (Pillow talk with Spike… get it? I crack me up) but personally, I would have preferred more detail. Though, I guess you can hardly blame Joss, he knew that his audience was much more touchy feely than say we Losties are. We are a bunch of hard nose theorists who need concrete answers that will either support or decimate our well crafted theories.

So that is what this place is; a place of theories… specifically mine. I’ve been hiding out in the comments section of John Cabrera’s blog, debating ideas and theories and often hinting to this big theory that has been brewing in my head over the last season. But after his most recent blog post:

http://www.johncabrera.com/general/subway-map-exposed.html#more-3252

where he described how much time and effort he’d put into brushing up on past seasons so he could put together this bitchin’ Subway Map of the Lost Island:

http://www.johncabrera.com/general/lost-on-the-subway.html#more-3230

I knew I needed to become more proactive in my Lostie ways. I had spent some time last week brushing off my theory. I got it some new shoes, a nice haircut and one of those super indulgent facials with the flower essences of endangered plants form the amazon and the tears of 1,000 virgins. And now, I finally feel like my theory is up to snuff. So, with the recent events, especially John talking about how great it is to put your ideas out there and watch them crumble or take flight, I decided that it would just be wrong to spend the last season of this thought provoking show sitting on the sidelines and occasionally hijacking John’s comments section. No. This year, I stand on my own.

What I intend to do in the next couple days is to write up my theory and post it here where hopefully some gentle readers will will see it, contemplate it and rip it a new one or perhaps even think it is kind of cool and start researching it on their own.

I will keep adding posts about my theory after each episode and see where it either holds water or is found to be wanting. When there are episodes where my theory isn’t even touched upon, and I’m sure that will happen quite a bit, I will post on more entertaining topics, like how Charlie Pace is the new Charlie Brown, why Miles and Hurley are the island’s cutest couple and most importatly, why the non-love triangle of Jack Tripper, Chrissy Snow and Janet Wood was much more dramatic and emotionally satisfying than the whole Jack/Kate/Sawyer ordeal has been. (Oh… and if you don’t know who Jack, Chrissy and Janet are… please don’t talk to me.)

Teaser:

With my theory, I hope to answer the questions

Upon which mythical island is Lost based?

Who are Jacob and The Man in Black (and no, he’s not Johnny Cash. I checked) in the context of world creation myth?

Why did Oceanic flight 815 crash on the island with these specific people on it?

Who is the character of Ben modeled after in the context of world myth?

And that is that. I hope that I’m able to gain some readers and hope if that comes to pass that we shall have some fun with this blog and that you guys don’t make me cry too many times. Though, I do hope to make a few of you people cry! What? With laughter of course. So get your thinking caps on, bookmark John Cabrera’s Blog, Lostpedia and www.oneloveforchi.com (because Chi is a close friend and still needs funds for his medical costs!)

Until next time… “That douche is my dad.”

Actions

Information

One response

1 02 2010
Deborah Rose

I love it. And I loved Three’s Company, too.

Leave a Reply

